Telephone Dialling Codes for Australia

The Telephone Country Code for dialling into Australia is: +61

There is then a code for each state in Australia, generally as follows:

  • 02 Australian Capital Territory – Canberra
  • 02 New South Wales – Sydney
  • 08 Northern Territory – Darwin
  • 07 Queensland – Brisbane
  • 08 South Australia – Adelaide
  • 03 Tasmania – Hobart
  • 03 Victoria – Melbourne
  • 08 Western Australia
  • 04 Used for Mobile Phones

Areas within each state will then have an additional set of numbers, after the above two digits, to locate the correct area.

Due to various changes though, this next set of numbers is not 100% specific to any suburb, and cannot be relied upon to be in a certain location.

Example: 07 3207 xxxx may be in the Victoria Point OR the Birkdale suburbs, and 07 3333 xxxx could be almost anywhere, as this is used by a VOIP provider, amongst their other numbers.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x