The cause of the 2nd wave of COVID-19 in Victoria.


Vision Direct

Are YOU the next winner of a new luxury property?

Sponsor ai1

What started the COVID-19 second wave in Victoria?.

Epidemiol reports show that 90% of Victoria’s active coronavirus cases can be traced to the first case of a family being quarantined in Melbourne’s “Rydges on Swanston” hotel, following their arrival in Australia.

Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) epidemiologist Charles Alpren, said that one member of a family developed symptoms of the virus on 9 May 2020, and the other three family members became symptomatic over the next three days. Workers at that hotel then began showing symptoms on 25 May 2020, with the virus confirmed on 25th May.

All four members of the family eventually tested positive to COVID-19, and so did three of the workers at the hotel.

The remaining outbreaks appear to have originated at the Stamford Plaza Hotel, with one man who arrived in Australia on 1 June 2020 and was diagnosed with COVID-19 on 4th June, and another from a couple who arrived on 11 June 2020, and were diagnosed on 15th and 16th June.

Monthly COVID cases in Victoria.

  • At the 9th March, Victoria had 15 confirmed cases, with no deaths.
  • At the 9th April, Victoria had 1,228 confirmed cases, with 12 deaths.
  • At the 9th May, Victoria had 1,477 confirmed cases, with 18 deaths.
  • At the 9th June, Victoria had 1,687 confirmed cases, with 19 deaths.
  • At the 9th July, Victoria had 3,098 confirmed cases, with 22 deaths.
  • At the 9th August, Victoria had 14,659 confirmed cases, with 209 deaths.

Weekly COVID-19 cases in Victoria.

    • 18,029 total cases by Sat, 22 Aug 20 with 1,512 new cases that week.
    • 16,517 total cases by Sat, 15 Aug 20 with 2,234 new cases that week.
    • 14,283 total cases by Sat, 8 Aug 20 with 3,352 new cases that week.
    • 10,931 total cases by Sat, 1 Aug 20 with 3,187 new cases that week.
    • 7,744 total cases by Sat, 25 Jul 20 with 2,391 new cases that week.
    • 5,353 total cases by Sat, 18 Jul 20 with 1,793 new cases that week.
    • 3,560 total cases by Sat, 11 Jul 20 with 1,091 new cases that week.
    • 2,469 total cases by Sat, 4 Jul 20 with 482 new cases that week.
    • 1,987 total cases by Sat, 27 Jun 20 with 170 new cases that week.
    • 1,817 total cases by Sat, 20 Jun 20 with 106 new cases that week.
    • 1,711 total cases by Sat, 13 Jun 20 with 30 new cases that week.
    • 1,681 total cases by Sat, 6 Jun 20 with 36 new cases that week.
    • 1,645 total cases by Sat, 30 May 20 with 43 new cases that week.
    • 1,602 total cases by Sat, 23 May 20 with 48 new cases that week.
    • 1,554 total cases by Sat, 16 May 20 with 77 new cases that week.
    • 1,477 total cases by Sat, 9 May 20 with 106 new cases that week.
    • 1,371 total cases by Sat, 2 May 20 with 25 new cases that week.
    • 1,346 total cases by Sat, 25 Apr 20 with 27 new cases that week.
    • 1,319 total cases by Sat, 18 Apr 20 with 54 new cases that week.
    • 1,265 total cases by Sat, 11 Apr 20 with 150 new cases that week.
    • 1,115 total cases by Sat, 4 Apr 20 with 430 new cases that week.
    • 685 total cases by Sat, 28 Mar 20 with 456 new cases that week.
    • 229 total cases by Sat, 21 Mar 20 with 180 new cases that week.
    • 49 total cases by Sat, 14 Mar 20 with 38 new cases that week.
    • 11 total cases by Sat, 7 Mar 20 with 4 new cases that week.
    • 7 total cases by Sat, 29 Feb 20 with 3 new cases that week.
    • 4 total cases by Sat, 22 Feb 20 with NO new cases that week.
    • 4 total cases by Sat, 15 Feb 20 with NO new cases that week.
    • 4 total cases by Sat, 8 Feb 20 with NO new cases that week.
    • 4 total cases by Sat, 1 Feb 20 with 4 new cases that week.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments