Malcolm Turnbull Leader of the Liberal Party of Australia

Malcolm Turnbull.

Leader of the Liberal Party:

  • 16 September 2008 ?? 1 December 2009
  • 14 September 2015 to TBA

Malcolm Turnbull became the Leader of the Liberal Party after defeating Brendan Nelson at the 2008 Liberal leadership ballot on 16 September 2008 by four votes.
This ended on 1 December 2009 with another Liberal Party leadership Ballot, with Malcolm Turnbull getting just 41 votes to Tony Abbott’s 42 votes.

Malcolm Turnbull again became the Leader of the Liberal Party, and assumed Office as the 29th Prime Minister of Australia, on 15 September 2015, after defeating Tony Abbott in a Liberal Party leadership Ballot, with 54 votes to Tony Abbott’s 44 votes.

Malcolm Turnbull’s First Federal Election as Prime Minister was on 2nd July 2016.

2016 Australian Federal Election Results

Malcolm Turnbull was also the Chair of the Australian Republican Movement (a non-partisan lobby group) from 1 April 1993 to 26 January 2000.
During this time he had considered running for a seat as a Labor candidate.

Agoda Hotel Bookings
Sponsor ai10
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x